Belize Eco-Kids Summer Camp Winners 2015!

Here are the 2015 Belize Eco Kids Summer Camp Winners!

Belize-Summer-CampOfficially known as the Children’s Summer Camp Scholarship Program, this annual event gives 24 young Belizeans between the ages of 8 and 13 a chance to learn about their natural world through a mix of adventure, social interaction, and fun filled applied education – all aimed at instilling a sense of wonderment in the unique cultures that constitute Belize and the environment that sustains us all.

The Eco Kids are selected after submitting a 300 word written essay which is reviewed and shortlisted by the Chaa Creek scholarship committee with the winners going on to attend the week long summer camp.  Chaa Creek will be providing all lodging, three healthy meals and snacks each day, structured educational activities, arts and crafts materials, tee shirts, 24-hour camp counsellor supervision, and guided tours conducted by licensed naturalist guides.

We want to congratulate all 24 kids who have been selected winners of our Eco Kids Essay Competition from more than 150 entries countrywide.

These lucky children have won a one week Eco Kids Summer Camp Package which is scheduled from July 19th to the 26th, 2015.

We are delighted to announce those 24 luck winners: 


1. Alexia Valdez – 9 years – Sacred Heart School (San Ignacio)
2. Divine Wagner – 12 years – Independence Primary School
3. Gabbi Knox Alexander – 11 years – Island Academy
4. Brijana Garbutt – 13 years – Ladyville Evangelical School
5. Jessie Bermudez – 9 years – Peninsula International Academy
6. Kelcy Harris – 11 years – Cristo Rey R. C. School
7. Margret Avila – 10 years – Sacred Heart School (Dangriga)
8. Jesline Juarez – 10 years – Cristo Rey R. C. School
9. Ligaya Cuy – 10 years – St. Peter’s Anglican School
10. Ramani Ramclam – 10 years – Big Falls R.C School
11. Chelsey Richardson -10 years – Ladyville Evangelical School
12. Amy Miranda Faux – 9 years – St. Johns Memorial Anglican 
13. Derick Tzul – 12 years – Cristo Rey R.C. School
14. Theodore Aguirre – 12 years – Sacred Heart Primary School (San Ignacio)
15. Edgar Chan Jr – 11 years – San Francisco R.C. School
16. Kiefer Mes – 10 years – Independence Primary School
17. Victor Ivor Paulino – 12 years – Saint Peter Claver R.C. School
18. Ponciano Cucul – 12 years – Independence Primary School
19. Linsford Castillo – 10 years -Holy Redeemer Primary School
20. Nicholas Fredrick Lausen – 9 years – Island Academy
21. Adrian Gutieres – 10 years – St. Andrews Anglican School
22. Drew Francis Harris – 10 years – Corozal Town
23. Brion Young- 12 years –  Sacred Heart School (San Ignacio)
24. Damarion Eiley- 8 years – St. Johns Memorial Anglican


Once again, congratulations for such  wonderful essays and we look forward to meeting each one of the twenty-four essay winners on July 19th! 

Subscribe to receive more great Belize travel content directly to your inbox!

Join over 3,700 readers and get the best Belize travel tips, photos, recipes and travel deals delivered to your inbox each week.

Blog post blog body signup

Leave a Comment